Blog 5 Food at Temple- Wenshu Temple

Around the Dragon Boat festival, I took my dad and mom lived nearby the WenShu temple. I heard WenShu temple many times. It was a famous Buddhism temple in China. My mom is a steady believer in Buddhism. She was excited about this trip. Our family hasn’t spent a Dragon Boat festival for years. They came from Beijing only intended to spend a festival with me. So we went to the temple and made wishes to the candle and put them into a case in the temple. I hope they could be health forever and nothing is important than family. During lunchtime, we decided to have food in the temple’s restaurant. We ordered the vegetarian diet hot-pot. The way that temple serve food is unique. We paid first for diet and we have to take our own bowl. Each person has only been signed one plate, one large bowl, and one small bowl. Food is served on the public table but it’s not allowed to waste. There was a monk stand beside the table and remind people again and again. The food in the temple was very fresh. The hot-pot is delicious. It changed the mine stereotype of a vegetarian diet. At very last of the lunch. we have to take our bowl and plate to the kitchen by our self. I found interesting that there was nearly no waste. I think it happened due to two reasons. First, there was a monk kept reminding people. Second, people held faith while they were having food. They were not forced to finish all the food by themselves. I think that was the main reason for less food waste, they showed respect to their faith. There was an old saying:” you can’t really force people to do things, except they are willing to.” That was a meaningful trip. about family, about food, about faith.

Leave a comment